Finland, Miscellaneous

First impressions

So upon arriving in Helsinki I obviously found some major differences between how things are done here and back home in Saskatchewan, Canada.

1. The first thing I noticed was that some of the traffic lights (I don’t think all of them did this) turn orange/amber before turning GREEN… instead of turning orange/amber before turning RED! It completely threw me off!

2. Next, I noticed that our toilets in our apartments don’t have a handle for flushing.. They have a lever that you pull up.

<– This is flushing. Weird.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. It seems that people from every other country EXCEPT Canada can speak AT LEAST TWO languages, usually three – five, but minimum two. Oh no big deal… So now I need to get on learning a second one ASAP.

4. Another one is how you buy pickles in a grocery store. It doesn’t come in a jar prepackaged for you… nope, you have to BAG it, like you do apples or lemons. On a side note it makes the rest of your fridge smell like dilly pickle goodness 🙂

Baggin pickles like it’s my day J O B. Yummm

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. The last thing I can think of right now is how you catch one of the MANY buses around here. You have to stand just about right on the street and put your hand right in front of the bus so as to say “Hey YOU! I need YOUR bus! Yes YOUUU, the one about to hit my arm!!!” They know you need to catch their bus this way.

So until I come up with more, these are the ones I can think of. I cannot wait to find out what other cultural differences we have 🙂

Standard

One thought on “First impressions

Leave a Reply

