Thoughts & What-not

to learn is to grow.

Meeting people from every corner of the world as well as travelling to a new continent has taught me that it is now time for me to sit back and listen. Listen to the people around me, my surroundings, and all the things I’m experiencing. My turn to speak will come again, but it is not right now.

Silence, especially between two or more people often feels awkward, but it’s something I believe we need to learn to be comfortable with. Just being content is sometimes a lovely state of mind that I encourage everyone to embrace once in a while…

Moving to a city with a population of almost double that of the city I previously lived in has taught me to really appreciate my time alone. Appreciation for the peace and quiet that comes with letting your thoughts drift away on a long bus ride, appreciation of being somewhat disconnected from the rest of the world sometimes, or even just walking through the busy streets of Helsinki’s City Center by yourself at any pace you decide.

Years of help from various people has prepared me for this. Anxiety is a dark cloak that can smother you if you do not know how to wear it. I have luckily figured out how to do just that. I’m now able to cope with it at the most important times, like here, when I’m on my own in a foreign country. If Rayelle from a few years ago were here in My place she would never have made it… I’m not sure what she would have done actually… But thanks to the people I love (and a few professionals) equipping me with the most essential coping mechanisms I’ve ever needed, I’m able to deal in pressing times. This keeps me calm, and going with the flow of things. This has been THE major lesson for me, if I can learn to deal with stress and anxiety, than it is possible for anyone to do absolutely anything they set their mind to!

Standard

Leave a Reply

